Street League And Billabong Pro Titles Decided!

  • No Comment

Two massive skating and surfboarding titles were decided this week with the 2012 Street league championship being won on Monday by DC skate star Nyjah Houston, Nyjah has been steadily tightening his grip on the street scene over the past year and this successful defence of his title further confirms that Nyjah is king right now!

Winning 3 out of the 4 events over the competition, Nyjah regularly dominated the field, showing supreme consistency and style throughout. Closest rival Paul Rodriguez put up a brave fight in the competition and can take pride in knowing that he was the only guy that took a meeting victory off of Nyjah this year. But after two comprehensive victories in Kansas City and California in the first two meetings, it was always going to be an uphill battle for the likes of Chaz Ortiz and Peter Rodriguez.

Despite this, Peter Rodriguez had the oppurtunity to snatch victory away from Nyjah Houston if he absolutely nailed his final trick, but unfortunately for Peter, he couldn’t quite pull it off, handing Nyjah the title for the 2nd year running

Nyjah said “All of the guys killed it so hard today. You have to land your tricks on the spot. The pressure is on. But there is no better competition ground than Street League, we always bring our best for SLS and Rob Dyrdek.”

But it’s safe to say the right man won and Nyjah thoroughly deserves this title, he was consistently the best in all areas, linking together awesome runs and silky smooth tricks in every event, he really did prove to the skateboarding world that he is the real thing. Paul Rodriguez and Sean Malto were 2nd and 3rd respectively and both can be proud of some pretty impressive performances, most notably Rodriguez’s winning run at Arizona.


And there was an Aussie 1-2 at the Billabong Pro in Tahiti with Mick Fanning edging out fellow Gold Coast beach buddy Joel Parkinson, this win cements Mick’s No.1 ranking in the ASP WCT rankings as 2012 continues to be dominated by the Aussies! In a high quality and tight final Mick posted a 18.87 score, coming from behind to edge out Joel Parkinson on 18.37.

Mick Fanning said “I just had to be patient. It’s Teahupo’o so it goes on and off. You can get two 10s in two minutes so I knew I just needed to keep my composure throughout the Final. Joel (Parkinson) is such an incredible surfer and he’s gotten so good out here. He raced out to an early lead and I knew I needed to focus on my own game plan. I got that good score about mid-heat and then was able to sell him when he had priority on one that didn’t pan out for him. The second wave was the one and it’s an incredible feeling to come back and get the win. I’m stoked.”

The surprise package of the tournament was Brazilian rider Ricardo Dos Santos who pulled off a shock win over Taj Burrow and pushed Mick Fanning all the way in an enthralling quarter final where he was eventually beaten by 19.07 points to 18.64.

Rising star JJ Florence continued his impressive rookie season with a very solid 3rd place to back up his maiden tour victory in Rio.

With not much breathing space for Dragon eyewear athlete Mick Fanning at the top of the ASP WCT Rankings, round 6 of the World Championship Tour at Trestles, California is a must win for Mick and Von Zipper’s Joel Parkinson who will be looking for his first tour win of the season and hopefully snatch top spot on the ASP WCT Rankings.

1 – Mick Fanning (AUS) 18.87
2 – Joel Parkinson (AUS) 18.37

QF 1: Mick Fanning (AUS) 18.93 def. Owen Wright (AUS) 18.10
QF 2: Joel Parkinson (AUS) 17.14 def. John John Florence (HAW) 15.17

QF 1: Mick Fanning (AUS) 19.07 def. Ricardo dos Santos (BRA) 18.64
QF 2: Owen Wright (AUS) 18.90 def. C.J. Hobgood (USA) 15.60
QF 3: Joel Parkinson (AUS) 16.50 def. Jeremy Flores (FRA) 16.43
QF 4: John John Florence (HAW) 16.17 def. Gabriel Medina (BRA) 4.17

Heat 1: Ricardo dos Santos (BRA) 16.17 def. Taj Burrow (AUS) 10.27
Heat 2: Owen Wright (AUS) 18.96 def. Julian Wilson (AUS) 10.70
Heat 3: Jeremy Flores (FRA) 15.66 def. Kieren Perrow (AUS) 9.50
Heat 4: John John Florence (HAW) 16.66 def. Damien Hobgood (USA) 14.64

CURRENT ASP WCT TOP 5 (After Billabong Pro Tahiti)
1. Mick Fanning (AUS) 34,750 pts
2. Joel Parkinson (AUS) 31,700 pts
3. John John Florence (HAW) 27,450 pts
4. Kelly Slater (USA) 25,450 pts
5. Taj Burrow (AUS) 24,950 pts


Other posts by

This Post Have no Responses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *